Anniversary

 

Happy Anniversary with WordPress

WP-anniversary

This nice “Achievement Award” came up on my WordPress Dashboard today.

Hurray to me! Five years with WordPress.

Now, if you go to the archive and look at my first blog post, you will see that is was posted on January 8, 2009. That is 6 years, 8 months and 19 days ago. So why the 5th anniversary celebration today?

Therein lies a sad tale. That first post was a test of Windows Live Writer. The post went to my Windows Live Spaces blog page. Yes, there was such a thing.

FirstPost

As the post implies, there was activity prior to that. Spaces was a lively place. Microsoft supported its blogging site with Live Writer, to this day the finest blogging editor in existence!

Microsoft gave up on Spaces the following year, and helped their bloggers to move over to WordPress. So this is how I came to WordPress.

A couple of years ago Microsoft stopped updating Live Writer. You can still download it as part of Windows Essentials – yes, there still is such a thing also.

Let’s turn to a happier story. Just twenty days after that first post my second post offered a “much manipulated photo”:

winternightb5b35d 

One of my earliest examples of what I now call “café art”. Of course, that first post also contained a small manipulated image. Can you see a trend starting there? Indeed it did!

 

.:.

© 2015 Ludwig Keck

About Ludwig

Lending a helping hand where I can. . . My motto: If it is worth doing, it is worth doing well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anniversary

  1. Happy 5th! or Happy 6.7th, whichever, that is quite a record.

  2. Linda G. says:

    Happy 5th (or more!) anniversary on WordPress. My anniversary with WordPress will be much shorter than my anniversary with blogging. I started out on Blogger. I started blogging after you, but not too long after you. My first blog post is dated March 1, 2009.

    • Ludwig says:

      Thank you Linda,
      My start on Blogger was August 5, 2010. I don’t know when I started following your blogs, but we are old friends indeed! Keep it up!

Comments are closed.