Sharing your blog posts to Social Media
One of the nice features of WordPress is the automatic sharing of posts to Social Media accounts. Setting up the sharing options is in the Dashboard > Settings > Sharing and there it now provides a link to Publicize Settings in the WordPress online editor.
It gets interesting there. The various media are shown, you can select the accounts where you want your posts to be added by WordPress. There is a step to grant permission. If you have multiple accounts or pages you can specify where your post will be shown.
For Facebook you can share to only one of your pages. For Twitter and Google+ you can share to more than one account or page.
When a post is published, WordPress places a post on the Social Media pages. It is fascinating that such posts are not what you get when you do it yourself.
Let’s take a look. If you tweet the URL of a blog post it looks like this:
The tweet will show the link and any text you add, but nothing more.
However, the automatic tweet from WordPress shows the Featured Image. That image is also added to your photo collection and it link back to the blog post. Very neat and impressive.
For Facebook it is similarly impressive. If you put the URL in a Facebook post, Facebook offers the Featured Image and sometimes others for showing in the post. You can select one image. Your own Facebook post would look like this:
The WordPress placed post on the other hand, once again is more impressive. It includes not only the featured image, but also the other images from the blog post. My habit is to use one of the images in a blog post as the Featured Image, so in this case that image is shown twice in the Facebook post. Even more useful is the inserted excerpt text from the blog post.
The automatic post to Facebook also adds the other images in the blog post to the Facebook photos collection.
By now you are likely convinced that the way to publicize in Social Media is to let WordPress do it. Well, it isn’t the best solution when it comes to Google+. Here is what the automatic post shows on my Google+ page.
A nice enough post, A text excerpt and the Featured Image.
There is a downer, however, right at the top the Google+ post says “Shared only with you”. That is of little use, certainly not worthy of the word “publicize”.
I have not (yet?) found the option for setting this to an automatic public share.
© 2016 Ludwig Keck